January 31, 20009 Senior Clinic - Union County HS Minutes

The January meeting of TSSBDA was called to order at 1:45 p.m. by President Pete Rogers. Present were Chris Metcalfe, John Gallagher, Anthony Terry, Jason Bailey, Don Hendrix, Mark Harrell, David Westrich, Ron Hicks, Tim Michaels, Lisa Michaels, Brandon Tilley, Kim White, Kathy Sotelo, Andrew Berman, Chuck Sayne, Pete Rogers, Dawn Patelke, Kevin Ross and Michelle Lewis.

Minutes of the fall meeting were passed out. Unfortunately, the secretary-treasurer forgot to make copies of the treasurer's report for the last 4 months of 2008, so a verbal report was read. There will be copies of treasurer's reporst for 2008 and the first month of 2009 printed for members at the February Jr. Clinic Meeting. The minutes and financial report was accepted as presented. Dawn asked if anyone knew how an organization qualified for Tennessee sales-tax exemption. TSSBDA is now a 503c(4), but that does not automatically qualify for sales-tax exemption. After discussion, no one knew definitively, and Dawn will research that further to see if it is possible or not.

The Senior Clinic has gone well, with a final count of 19 bands and 153 students. Chris Metcalfe wanted the minutes to reflect thanks to Dawn and Union County High School for being able to step in and host after the change of date forced a host change in December. (Because of by-laws change last spring, there had been confusion about the date for senior clinic.) Heritage HS will host Senior Clinic the 4th weekend in January 2010.

Our next event is Jr. Clinic at Karns Middle School, hosted by Joel Tillman, the 4th Friday-Saturday in February. The clinicians are Shannon Pirtle, Blue band and Holly Wight, Red Band. If there are students to justify 3 bands, Andrew Bernard will be the 3rd clinician.

Concert Festival 2009 will be held the 4th Saturday in April at Hiawassee College, hosted by Linda Trout. The judges are Dr. Stuart Benkert, John Burroughs and Mark Boring as the hold-over judge.

Because new officers are elected every two years at Senior clinic, nominations were accepted for President-Elect. John Gallagher was nominated by Kathy Sotelo. After no other nominations were received, it was moved and seconded to call the question (Ron Hicks, Chuck Sayne). John was accepted as President-Elect by acclamation. In-coming President Chris Metcalfe and the membership thanked Pete Rogers for his leadership as always in stepping in as president of TSSBDA after Mike Carter resigned.

Discussion moved to prioritizing clinicians, judges and venues for next year's events. Chris will check to see if Karns Middle school is available for Jr. Clinic 2010, as it is such a great facility.

Sr. Clinic 2010. The body felt that we had such a great experience with Dr. David Holsinger at this event, that we'd like to explore continuing to contract composers for our blue band clinicians. (Motion/second to end nominations by Brandon Tilley and Kathy Sotelo.) The list of composers are: Robert W. Smith, David Shaffer, Elliot del Borgo, Jennifer Higdon, Greg Danner, Josh Jackson.

In case no composer can be found for Sr. Clinic Blue Band for 2010, clinicians to be contacted will be David Romines, Christian Zembower, John Culvahouse, Roy Holder, Frank Gryzch, Mike Alverson, June Holder. (Motion/second to end nominations by Brandon Tilley and Kathy Sotelo.)

Junior Clinic Blue Band clinicians for 2010 are Julie Stout, Jim Rector, Richard Brown, Brooke Rhea, Tonya Millsaps, David Westrich, Randy Coapstick. (Motion/second to end nominations by Brandon Tilley and Kathy Sotelo.)

Junior Clinic Red Band clinician is Brandon Tilley (Motion/second to end nomination by Kathy Sotelo and Kim White). Brandon was accepted by acclamation. In case of a 3rd band, Lisa Michaels and Jim Hix will be contacted. (Motions to end by Chuck Sayne and Kevin Ross)

High school representative judges for Concert Festival 2010 are: Ron Rogers, Zach Williamson, Mark Connell, William Hunley, Buddy Stewart, Tim Michaels. (Motions to end by Dawn Patelke and Chuck Sayne).

Middle school representative judges for Concert Festival are Joel Tillman, Angie Messer, Kelley Burroughs, Charlie Herron, William Hunley, Rodney Williams. (Motions to end by Kevin Ross and Brandon Tilley)

College representative judges for Concert Festival are: Marshall Forrester, Christian Zembower, Sean Greene, Michael Stewart, Joe Hermann, David Royse. (Motions to end by Lisa Michaels and Kevin Ross.)

In "new old" business, a report from Brandon Tilley and Kathy Sotelo on sight-reading music for jr and senior clinic was presented. They provided examples that they had written of appropriate difficulty for each instrument at both levels. In order to provide some extra flexibility for the disparate range of abilities that might be present at senior clinic, a suggestion was made that both junior and senior music be available for senior clinic. In addition, judges are not constrained to use the provided music if they would rather bring something they consider more appropriate for instrument and level, but the pre-written music packet will be provided so that every judge will have a viable alternative in hand that is suitable and quickly accessible. This will help to keep auditions moving in a quick and consistent manner. Motion to accept the sight-reading music for use at the next (jr.)clinic was made by Dawn Patelke and seconded by Kim White. The question was called by Kevin Ross, and the motion passed.

The motion to adjourn was made by Brandon Tilley and seconded by Kevin Ross, so that the scholarship committee could meet and select the winners for 2009.

(The TSSBDA 2009 scholarship recipients are Chris Foust from Union County and Molly Brackins from Pigeon Forge HS.)

Respectfully submitted by Dawn Patelke, Executive Secretary-Treasurer